Axis & Allies rules reference
- Axis & Allies Revised (2004) edition clarifications and errata
- Axis & Allies: Europe clarifications and errata
Rule differences between Axis & Allies Revised and Axis & Allies: Europe
|Planes can hit submarines. Submarines must sustain at least one round of fire before submerging.||Planes cannot hit submarines unless a friendly destroyer is present. Allied destroyers reveal enemy submarines but may not participate in the attack. They can be destroyed, however. [AA:E FAQ]|
|Submarines choose whether to submerge at the end of each combat round. [AA:R p.32]||Attacking submarines choose whether to submerge at the beginning of each combat round. They may submerge before the first combat round (“sub stalling”). [AA:E FAQ] A defending submarine may submerge instead of returning fire (although this is pointless if it has taken a hit). [AA:E p.10]|
|Submarines may not submerge when enemy destroyers are present. [AA:R p.29]||Submarines may submerge when enemy destroyers are present. [AA:E p.17]|
|Both attacking and defending submarines have a “first strike” ability. [AA:R p.15]||Only attacking submarines have a “first strike” ability.|
|Fighters cost 10 IPCs. Carriers cost 16 IPCs.||Fighters cost 12 IPCs. Carriers cost 18 IPCs.|
|New industrial complexes may be built.||New industrial complexes cannot be built.|
|Destroyers cannot bombard without the “Combined Bombardment” upgrade.||Destroyers bombard on a 2.|
|Tanks defend on a 3.||Tanks defend on a 2.|
|Deployment is limited by a territory’s income value.||The deployment limit only applies to captured industrial complexes.|
|Newly built fighters may deploy on newly built carriers; both must deploy from the same industrial complex. Old fighters, including allied fighters, may be placed on new carriers deploying in an adjacent sea zone; again, they must be in the territory with the industrial complex from which the new carrier deployed. New fighters may not deploy onto old carriers. [AA:R FAQ]||Newly built fighters can only deploy to land territories. [AA:E FAQ]|
|Victory is determined by the number of key cities held.||Germany wins by holding its own capital plus one Allied capital. It must hold the Allied capital until the beginning of its next turn following capture. The Allies win by holding Moscow and capturing Germany. The capturing faction must hold Germany until the beginning of its next turn and must also hold its own capital.|
|Anti-aircraft casualties are determined by the dice.||Anti-aircraft casualties are determined by the plane owner.|
|Planes take anti-aircraft fire every time they fly over an enemy anti-aircraft battery. [AA:R p.12–13, AA:R FAQ]||Planes making combat moves, including retreating from combat, take fire. [AA:E p.9] Planes making non-combat moves, including returning from successful battles, take no anti-aircraft fire. [AA:E p.18]|
|Each faction starts with IPCs equal to its national income.||Before receiving starting IPCs, each team gets a 12 IPC cash advance to spend or save immediately. [AA:E p.6]|
Axis & Allies: Europe also features the following, which are explained in the rule book:
- Battle for the Atlantic (convoy sea zones)
- Soviet patriotic war (Soviet Union can appropriate allied units)
- Middle East oil
- Fighter escorts
The following apply to both games, even if I do not cite both games’ rules.
- Anti-aircraft guns and industrial complexes prevent blitzing. [AA:E p.22, AA:R p.13]
- Tanks cannot blitz when leaving a transport. [AA:R FAQ]
- The number of plastic pieces available has no effect on the game. [AA:R p.7, AA:E p.7]
- Shore bombardment can only target land units. [AA:R p.15]
- Shore bombardment cannot happen if the attacking battleships fought enemy navy before the transports landed. [AA:R p.19–20, AA:E p.13]
- Amphibious assaults must be declared during combat movement. They can be canceled but not redirected. [AA:R p.19, AA:E p.13] If an amphibious assault is canceled, and the territory in question is also being attacked by land, the land portion of combat is not canceled. Units attacking by land can retreat as usual after one or more rounds of combat. [not sure; citation needed]
- Air units may participate in the sea portion or the land portion of an amphibious assault, not both. For example, planes may not be used as cannon fodder in the sea battle while en route to the land battle. [AA:R p.20, AA:E p.13]
- Transports may load or unload after combat (but not both). They may not unload if they retreated. [AA:R FAQ, AA:R p.31, AA:E p.13] Transports cannot load during combat movement if enemy ships are present. [AA:E FAQ]
- Enemy ships (except submerged submarines) prevent transports from unloading. [AA:R p.31, AA:E p.8]
- If you start a naval fight where allied subs are present, those subs cannot submerge [AA:E FAQ]
Europe rules reminders
- Convoy sea zones can be “blitzed.” [AA:E p.16]
- Transports alone cannot capture or liberate a convoy sea zone, unless they are the only survivors from an attack that involved other friendly ships. They can move through unoccupied hostile convoy zones during combat movement, however. [AA:E p.16]
- Enemy-controlled convoy zones are considered hostile territory. You may not move through them during non-combat movement. [AA:E p.18]
- Fighters may escort strategic bombing raids. [AA:E p.17] The sequence is:
- Attacker makes combat movements.
- During combat resolution, attacker declares that he is making a strategic bombing raid. Each plane may only participate in one kind of attack per turn.
- Defender declares defending fighters. Fighters that scramble against a strategic bombing may not defend against regular attacks that turn, and vice versa.
- Anti-aircraft batteries fire.
- Defending fighters fire. They hit on a 2.
- Escorting fighters fire. They hit on a 1.
- Bombs drop.
- A group of planes making a combat move does not become a strategic bombing raid until combat resolution. This means that even if every bomber in a group of planes is destroyed en route to a target, the fighters must still proceed to the target and attack for at least one round before retreating—even if the player planned to make a strategic bombing raid. [AA:E FAQ]
- If a fighter scrambles against a strategic bombing and its home territory is captured during a normal attack on the same turn, it is destroyed. [AA:E p.16]
Please send corrections and other suggestions to will...@gmail.com.